Galentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is the suckiest day to ever be invented.  But thanks to Leslie Knope we have Galentine’s Day which is a million times better.tumblr_n0wcbmyieh1tpga0qo1_4001

Like many girls, I have experienced my share of heartache.  But, with it we learn that boys come and go, but girl friends are for life!

So, this year my gal pals and I decided to celebrate our love for each other as well as our love for food #foodbeforedudes.  We made tacos for dinner.

tacos

And I baked jam tarlets for dessert.

  • 125g butter
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I used canola)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 cups flour

**We love eating so, I doubled the quantity of the ingredients and was able to make 2 dozens.**

Method

  1. Cream the butter and sugar.
  2. Add the oil and essence, and beat in the egg.
  3. Add the flour and baking powder, and knead into a soft dough.
  4. Dust your work surface with flour and roll out the dough.
  5. I used a mug to cut circles.  The dough will rise so you can vary the size of your base.image2
  6. I placed my circles in a greased muffin tin, to make a cup shape.image1
  7. With a cocktail fork, I crimped the sides and punched holes into the crust.
  8. I used strawberry jam [because it’s my favourite and it’s red] for my filling.  I put 2 teaspoons per tartlet.image3
  9. To decorate the top, I cut dough into heart shapes to show some extra love to my gal pals.image5
  10. Bake at 180 degrees celcius, for 30 minutes.

image4

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

