What does the fox say?

Being plain is boring.  I love being creative.  It’s something I encourage my students to do as well.

A recent creative passion for me as been cake decorating.  I’m by no means highly skilled in this area, but I made it a mission to teach myself little tricks.

I began by doing simple designs on cupcakes.  Over the holiday season, I made cute little snowmen.image2

And one bored Saturday afternoon, I made little hedgehogs.

image1

With shaking confidence, I decided to take on the challenge of decorating a big cake.  The first on being a mermaid tail.  My confidence built up when that turned out better than I expected.  My next project was a fox face.

My friend, Nicole, is a fan of this woodland creature so for her birthday I decided to surprise her with an edible fox.

For the cake, I used the Hershey’s chocolate cake recipe, which is also found at the back of the Hershey’s cocoa container.

I made a cream cheese frosting to decorate.

  • 8oz cream cheese
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • Dash of red and yellow food coloring (to make orange)
  1. Combine the cream cheese and powdered sugar.  I used an electric mixer to help me get it super smooth. img-thing
  2. Separate into 2 bowls.
  3. Keep on bowl plain, and add color to the second.
  4. I used the star nose decorating tip

 

First, I sandwiched the two cakes with a thin layer of frosting. Then I coated the entire cake with the plain frosting.

Next, I used a skewer to outline the face, and filled in the cheek area with plain frosting.

image1

I covered the rest of the cake with orange frosting.

image2

For the ears, I used oreo cookies.  I cut into a cone shape and stuck it in with frosting.

image3

I used chocolate chips for the eyes, and a round candy for the nose.

image4

Leave a Reply

