Muffin tops are better than Abs

One of my ABsolute favourite treats is lemon-poppy seed muffins.  When I lived in South Africa I would have them all the time because it was readily available.  I could not make them in Korea previously because I did not have poppy seeds.  Fortunately, I have a mom who loves making me happy.  She brought me a big bag of poppy seeds when she visited me.  The next step was finding the perfect recipe.  I tried a few but it wasn’t anything to write about.  Finally, while searching for a pumpkin pie recipe, on Pinterest, I stumbled upon a treasure of a recipe.

My first attempt at it produced a flat, dry, cake.  I was extremely disappointed.  I felt like I had failed a big test.  To paraphrase a famous saying, “if at first you don’t succeed, eat img_55801the bad muffins, and make a new batch.”  That’s exactly what I did.
My second attempt produced an amazing, thick, lemon fragrant batter.  From that alone I knew that these muffins were going to be a hit.  I stood in front of the oven watching them cook, like a little child.  20 minutes later I had beautiful, fluffy lemon-poppy seed muffins.  It’s full of flavor and comfort.

Try it for yourself, the proof is definitely in the eating.

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup butter (4 tablespoons/57g)
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (or almond) extract
  •  2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • ¾ cup plain fat free greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds (add more if you like)
  • 1⅓ cups flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Method:  Mix the ingredients in the order they appear.  Bake for 20 minimg_55781utes, at 180 degrees celcius.  Check if the muffins are done with a toothpick.  Lower the heat and cook for an additional 5 to 10 minutes if the muffins require more time in the oven.

*Souce: http://www.lecremedelacrumb.com/2015/08/lemon-poppyseed-muffins.html
Leave a Reply

