Vegging out

Last year a friend had me over for dinner.  She prepared veggie burgers with an avocado sauce.  I had never eaten a veggie burger prior to visiting her because, well…If I go out to get a burger, I am most likely going to get a chicken or beef burger.  But this burger was AMAZINGLY good.  I had to recreate them in my kitchen.

I followed her recipe to gather the main ingredients, but during preparation I hit a few road bumps, so I changed a few things and made it my own.  The original post of the recipe suggested putting all the ingredients into a food processor to speed up preparation.  image1Unfortunately, I don’t own one, but I do have a blender so I decided to improvise and use that, instead.  However, my tiny machine could not handle this task so I added about a tablespoon of olive oil and half a cup of water to help the dry ingredients blend.  But as you can imagine, things started to fall apart even further, the mixture started to look soupy and eventually the blender overheated and stopped working.  I had to think fast on how I was going to remedy this minor crisis.  I decided to manually mix the ingredients with the aid of a few kitchen tools and to add bread crumbs to the mixture to help soak up the extra moisture.  I also doubled up the rolled oat requirement which eventually led to us enjoying a wholesome lentil-chickpea burger.  I made a delicious avocado sauce to accompany, similar to the original post.

There was a lot of mixture, which lasted the entire weekend. I also made little sliders for me to take to work, for lunch.

To replicate my almost ruined burgers you will need:

  • Veggie burgers
    • 1 carrot, peeled
    • ½ medium yellow or white onion
    • 3 garlic cloves
    • 2 cups cooked green or brown lentils
    • ½ cup cooked chickpeas
    • 2 large eggsimage2
    • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
    • Handful fresh cilantro
    • 1 teaspoon chili powder
    • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
    • 1 teaspoon sriracha or other hot sauce
    • ½ teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
    • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    • 1 tablespoon olive oil
    • ½ cup cold water
    • 1 cup panko bread crumbs

Note:  There may be excess water from the lentils and chickpeas if you’re cooking them
from scratch.  This may cause the mixture to get a little more wet, in that case, just add handfuls of breadcrumbs until you achieve the correct texture.

I formed big patties with 4 tablespoons of mixture.  I rolled it into a ball, then flattened them out and shaped into beautiful burger patties.  I fried them on medium heat with olive oil.

Note: Placing the uncooked patties in the refrigerator for a about 20 minutes prevents them from breaking while frying.

  • Avocado sauce
    • 1 medium to large avocado, pitted and sliced
    • Handful fresh cilantro  (optional)
    • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (we used bottled lemon juice)
    • 2 garlic cloves
    • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
    • ½ teaspoon ground coriander
    • ½ teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
    • 3 to 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
    For a smooth sauce, put all the ingredients in a blender.  We mashed ours manually since the blender was not working, so it was a little chunky.

I toasted the buns lightly before assembling the burgers.  I served the burgers with a garden salad and fries.

Preparation time may vary for you.  I cooked the chickpeas and lentils the day before to save time.  If I did not have have the blender blunder, preparation (mixing, cooking and assembly) would have been under an hour.

Source: http://cookieandkate.com/2014/lentil-chickpea-veggie-burgers-with-avocado-green-harissa/
Leave a Reply

