Being a little cheesy

 

Week nights are a little busy for me of because of my work schedule so cooking time is limited.  Luckily comfort food doesn’t take too long to prepare.  One of my favorite broccolivegetables is broccoli; growing up I remember my mom and aunt serving it with a creamy cheese sauce.  I decided to turn that memory into a meal by adding rice.  The end result was comforting cheesy-broccoli rice.

To make this quick meal, you will need:

  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1/2 cup cooked brown/white rice
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard (regular works as well)
  • 1/4 cup cheese ** I like things cheesy so I usually add more** 

In a large skillet, add the rice, Greek yogurt, and mustard.  Slowly add in the broccoli, gently fold the rice and broccoli together, mixing will break up the florets making your dish look messy.  Finally throw in the cheese and watch it melt. Give the dish a few more fold so that the cheesy goodness spreads.  *Add salt and pepper to your liking. Serve hot.

image1

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

