Between two slices

I love quick dinners.  Something that does a beautiful dance on your palate but is ready in under 15 minutes.  The quickest thing to make is toast or a sandwich but those options don’t exactly beam with excitement.  Whenever I go to the local bakery I study their selection of sandwiches and try to recreate them at home.

Image

On a recent flight I was severed a ham and cheese sandwich with a light spread of guacamole on fresh brown rye bread.  It was one of the best things I’ve eaten on a flight.  When I got back to Korea I was on a mission to recreate that.  However, I decided to add my own spin to it just to be creative.  My bakery didn’t have rye bread on that particular day so I got whole-grain seed bread which was just as good and was low on calories.  I also opted to used sliced avocado instead of guacamole.

To make this sandwich I used:

  • Sliced ham
  • Cheddar cheese (grated)
  • Avocado (sliced)
  • Shredded lettuce
  • 2 slices whole-grain seed bread

I began by placing the lettuce on the first slice of bread followed by the ham.  I  placed the avocado on top of the ham and sprinkled my shredded cheese on top before placing the second the slice of bread creating a beautiful tower of deliciousness.  Since it’s still pretty cold in Korea I decided to toast  the sandwich.  I spread a light layer of butter on the outside of both slices of bread and placed the sandwich in a frying pan for about a minute on each side.  The cheese melted and fused with the avocado and the ham let out it own bursts of flavor.  It’s definitely something worth trying.

As an optional side you can have a crunchy garden salad to keep things healthy and balanced.

*For a vegetarian option simply eliminate the ham.

Image source: Google

Leave a Reply

