Zany for Zucchini

A friend of mine and fellow blogger (thewolfwilltravel.com) asked me to share my zucchini cake recipe after seeing a picture of it in an earlier post.   Zucchini is by far one of my favourite vegetables; however a few people consider it to be boring so nobody bothers to do anything creativewith it.  During one of my internet trolling sessions I stumbled upon this amazing recipe that turns my favourite vegetable into something spectacular. Naturally, I HAD to try it!  With a few minor tweaks to the original recipe, zucchini cakes have became a frequent guest at my dinner parties as they are a perfect accompaniment to any main course.  These little treats  are really light and fluffy,  I could eat about a dozen in one go.  Preparation is quick and easy, so if you don’t want to spend too much time in the kitchen, this is perfect!

raw-sliced-zucchini

Ingredients

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs (Coarse breadcrumbs)
  • 1/2 cup  parmesan cheese
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Method

  • Grate the zucchini and drain out the excess water.  To do this, wrap the grated zucchini is paper towels for a few minutes.   
  • In a large bowl combine all the ingredients at once. Using your hands, squish the zucchini into the bread crumbs with the help of the egg.  The spices add a rich flavour and beautiful aroma to the cakes so ensure that they are mixed in well.
  • Once you have a sticky dough, scoop a tablespoon full at a time into your hands and form a small patty.  *(You can make them bigger if you wish)
  • Fry your cakes in shallow oil over medium heat till they are golden.

I love these cakes with chicken and baked potatoes. When I’m in the mood for a full vegetarian course, I like to serve them with a beautiful stir fry.  Sometimes, I prefer to just eat them on their own with a sweet and sour sauce.  Whatever your taste preference, I’m certain you will enjoy these flavourful little cakes.

Happy cooking!

Image

Zucchini cakes served with mac&cheese and vegetable stir fry

Source: http://www.lifesambrosia.com

4 thoughts on “Zany for Zucchini

Leave a Reply

